Friday Daydreams: A Few Favourites, 2016 – Part I

IMG_20160119_213520

Some Things I Fell In Love With This Year:

Quotes:

Word for Thought: Epistolary – contained in or carried on by letters, a written correspondence 


“Everyone has oceans to fly, if they have the heart to do it. Is it reckless? Maybe. But what do dreams know of boundaries?”

~ Amelia Earhart


“My heart is in my pocket, it is Poems by Pierre Reverdy.”

~ Frank O’Hara, from ‘A Step Away From Them’


 “You are in every line I have ever read.” ~ Charles Dickens


img_20160807_113120

“I can remember it now as I see you again,

how much tenderness we could wedge between a stairwell.”

~ Carolyn Forché, from ‘Reunion’


“I’m a historian you see, but history has always been stingy to me.”

~ Cathy Park Hong, from ‘In the Desert’


“In electrical fundamentals, we’ve been learning about potential (v) – when current flowing through time creates energy. That’s the way you define potential: something that gets stronger until it finds a new path to take.”

~ Rachel Wong


“Everything else was to come, everything about love…

At other times, I’m just a secretary: the world has so much to say, and I’m writing it down.

This great tenderness.” ~ David Kirby, from ‘Taking It Home to Jerome’


“I had forgotten how much light there is in the world, till you gave it back to me.”

~ Ursula K. Le Guin


“Of all the punctuation marks, he told me, ellipses were his favourite.”

~ Patrick Modiano

IMG_20160822_172601
From The Guggenheim Museum in NYC

“The character of a phrase should be cerebral decision divorced from the difficulties of your instrument.”

~ Karina Cannellakis


“Build your dream and then sit in it for awhile. Embrace it and work to make it happen.”

~ Carson Nunnally


carson_blue_skies
PC Jenn Li

“I learn by going where I have to go.”

~ Roethke


“Take up the song; forget the epitaph.”

~ Edna St. Vincent Millay


“That’s not feminism, that’s just good sense.”

~ Linda Hasselstrom, from ‘Clara: In the Post Office’

img_20161112_134136

Leave a Reply

