In This Life

Happy 2017!

I haven’t had a lot of time to write due to work and the holidays arriving so much faster than I had expected (does this happen to everyone? It just sneaks up on you, I swear), but I did want to leave you with a few beautiful things I read recently that have helped me approach this new year with a braver and less troubled heart.

img_20151221_180526


Winter: Tonight: Sunset

my shoes crunching on the frozen gravel, first

through the woods, then out into the open fields
past a couple of trailers and some pickup trucks, I stop

and look at the sky. Suddenly: orange, red, pink, blue,
green, purple, yellow, gray, all at once and everywhere.

I pause in this moment at the beginning of my old age
and I say a prayer of gratitude for getting to this evening

a prayer for being here, today, now, alive
in this life, in this evening, under this sky.

~ By David Budbill from While We’ve Still Got Feet. Copyright Copper Canyon Press, 2010. Reprinted with permission. 


Here are a few others also.

I’ll be posting a some of my 2016 favourites shortly, but for now, I hope you love this poem just as much as I did, and I hope that it brings you peace too.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

