A Little Euphorious

No Doctors Today, Thank You

They tell me that euphoria is the feeling of feeling wonderful, well,
      today I feel euphorian,
Today I have the agility of a Greek god and the appetite of a Vic-
      torian.
Yes, today I may even go forth without my galoshes,
Today I am a swashbuckler, would anybody like me to buckle any
      swashes?
This is my euphorian day,
I will ring welkins and before anybody answers I will run away.
I will tame me a caribou
And bedeck it with marabou.
I will pen me my memoirs.
Ah youth, youth! What euphorian days them was!
I wasn’t much of a hand for the boudoirs,
I was generally to be found where the food was.
Does anybody want any flotsam?
I’ve gotsam.
Does anybody want any jetsam?
I can getsam.
I can play chopsticks on the Wurlitzer,
I can speak Portuguese like a Berlitzer.
I can don or doff my shoes without tying or untying the laces be-
      cause I am wearing moccasins,
And I practically know the difference between serums and anti-
      toccasins.
Kind people, don’t think me purse-proud, don’t set me down as
      vainglorious,
I’m just a little euphorious.

~ Ogden Nash


IMG_20150913_190623

This was just the poem I needed for a rather moody Monday. I’ve been stuck in a rut lately. Job-searching feels like a series of dead ends, and it’s been so frustrating to constantly wonder what I’m doing wrong. It’s also leading me down a road of semi-existential questioning, ie. What I am doing here? What is the point? What am I supposed to do with my life? Do I even want to be in this career path? How I can be expected to be an adult when I still don’t really know how the stock market works?

Yesterday, I curled myself onto my bed and called my friend. “I feel like such a failure,” I sighed into the phone. “Everyone is being so kind and telling me that it’s alright that I don’t have anything yet, that something will come up, and that I just have to keep looking, but I feel terrible about it. I feel regret. Maybe the work that I did in college wasn’t worth anything.”  And my wonderful friend, wise as he is, let me get my ranting out and then told me to have patience.

I have to remember that these things take time and to have patience with myself. I’m infinitely grateful for the people in my life that have patience with me, my friend being one of them. So long story short, I needed a poem to cheer me up, and this one was perfect. Little moments of thankfulness and feeling euphorious – I hope you have some of that this week. Don’t give up hope, and I will strive to do the same on my end. Happy Monday!


A Recipe for Euphorius-ness: (aka Rainbow Smoothies)

Courtesy of Love and Lemons, an Austin-based cooking blog that’s full of bright, seasonal recipes. I loved the Peach One as I’m all about peaches right now.

Ingredients:

1 sliced peach

½ cup of raspberries (fresh or frozen)

½ tablespoon of almond butter

¾ cup almond milk

2 ice cubes

Instructions:

Throw ingredients in a blender, blend till smooth, and enjoy!

img_20160531_210549

Leave a Reply

