Thinking About Daily Habits

Every Day Habits.png

When you tell me that you want to be fearless

What I fear is that you’ll lose your realness.

The inner thoughts that rumble

And the ways in which you stumble,

Are the vulnerabilities that create our humility.

—-

We rise and then we fall.

We rise and fall and rise and fall.

—-

When you tell me that you want to be fearless,

I fear you will become heart-less,

And it’s only through the heart that we rise above it all.

—-

Love,

Wonder


Last week, I woke up to a message in my email inbox. One of my best friends had forwarded me a “Daily Clue” from Amber Rae, containing this little poem. It was just what I needed to start my day, and I loved the short little burst of positivity it provided.

Sometimes, I feel like my inbox is so cluttered with nonsense that distracts: “40% sale at buyallthethings.com,” “Quick! Sale for Those Magazines that You Never Read Ending Tomorrow!,” “12 Ways to Travel Smarter,” or “Download This Quick and Easy Tool to Make Your Life 100 x More Efficient.”

It’s overwhelming, and I end up not reading any of them, playing a quick game of “Article Tinder” with the messages: Will I read you, will I not? Swipe left. Delete. Swipe Right. Save. And yet some messages still never get read. (Or is it swipe right, delete? Oh well, whatever). Just like my extremely brief stint with Tinder, I’ve unsubscribed from email lists because 1) I didn’t appreciate how many times the company emailed me, 2) I found that the content wasn’t pertinent or interesting, or 3) and this is really main reason, I didn’t have time.

But I thought about that last part, and I realized that you can make the time for the things that matter to you. So I made an effort to focus on what messages in my inbox I did read, or should make time to read. Where could I take the extra few minutes from in my day?  I decided to cut my Instagram and Facebook time down and read at least one article from the Daily New Yorker emails instead. I made it a point to skim the Skimm each morning (sorry for that terrible pun, I just had to), and I subscribed to Amber Rae’s Daily Clues. And maybe in a couple of weeks, I’ll do a technology free day. No emails. No messages. No social media. Just a good book, and if I’m lucky, an hour or so in a coffee shop somewhere to sit, read, and think.

Although not all of these are part of my day, the following are what I read and enjoy most often:

The Skimm: the perfect pre-morning run ritual. And I’m curious to try this email news source as well.

Amber Rae’s Daily Clues: something short, positive, and thoughtful in your inbox everyday.

Daily New Yorker emails: ranging from news to opinion pieces, satire and reviews, the New Yorker consistently offers a great read.

Hungryrunnergirl.com: the writer of this lovely blog is one of the most positive people I’ve ever come across, and she shares candidly on running, parenting, and facing obstacles in life.

The Writer’s Almanac – Garrison Keillor: A poem a day. I’ve found some of my favourite poems/poets on this website.

Cup of Jo: probably my favourite website to frequent. Cup of Jo provides thoughtful, fun, insightful, and engaging posts on everything from fashion to travel, parenting, talking about relationships, and smart career advice from accomplished women. Joanna Goddard, and the team at Cup of Jo, have created a beautiful corner of the internet universe that you should know about too.

IMG_20160626_220816

What are some of your daily habits?

 

Leave a Reply

