Own the Day: 8. Road to Hana

Thomas_3

Thomas

Asked over breakfast at dinner

Corner table. Fido.

“Give us something else; give us something new; for Heaven’s sake, give us something bad, so long as we feel we are alive and active and not just passive admirers of tradition.”

~ Carl Nielsen

_____________________________

To Listen:

______________________________

A Walk-Through: Road to Hana

Thomas_1

This is a hard one. I’m gonna have to think about it.

Ok. Ok. Here’s one.  My family was on vacation in Maui.

I know, right? Anyway, this was the summer of –

It must have been my freshman year.

I’d brought this business book along.

Something about a conductor and a corporation.

I can’t remember it now – oh, what was the title again?

Yeah, we were in Hawaii for ten days.

Do you know the Road to Hana?

Well, we drove it. Woke up really early.

Probably around 7:30 am.

And we went from the North to the South side.

8 hours of driving, yup.

At the time, I was listening to a lot of different things.

Busoni: Theme and Variations on a Chopin prelude.

Habanera by Bizet. Spongebob sound tracks.

Pretty random. Don’t put that in, okay?

The harmonic surprises in Beethoven Symphonies are incredible.

Let’s just say I was listening to that.

So there’s these cliffs, right?

You basically have to hug the side of the cliff as you drive.

Everything around is green and verdant.

There were waterfalls, wildlife everywhere.

Did we stop? Yeah, we took some time at different places.

Once was at a black sand beach. You’ve heard of it?

There was a trail that went a couple miles in, ended up at a waterfall.

So you know how the mountain there used to be a volcano?

Is it still? Do you know? I think it might still be active.

Anyway, there’s a change of landscape there.

We hiked to the top of the mountain.

Yeah, I don’t think it’s an active volcano anymore.

It was completely desolate at the top.

Rocks, and red everywhere.

I felt like I was on the moon,

Looking at the varied landscape of the earth below.

I felt like I was in the middle of the universe.

Encompassing everything, all at once.

—-

Thank you:

for the Debussy violin sonata

for Elgar’s Salut d’amour

someday soon I’m sure

 I’ll be able to say

I played with that pianist

how lucky was I?

Thomas_2

Leave a Reply

