Courage in Your Own

Life is mostly froth and bubble, 

Two things stand like stone. 

Kindness in another’s trouble, 

Courage in your own. 

~ Adam Lindsay Gordon 

IMG_20160123_115659490_HDR~2

This past week and weekend were not my best. I’ve been falling behind and lagging, dragging my feet to class and practice, completing assignments apathetically, and feeling a bit down-spirited. My heart (and often my mind) has been everywhere else but in the present moment, and while the past few days have been filled with concerts/rehearsals/recitals, I have no reason to complain about the busyness. One of my best friends gave me some wonderful advice the other day. “Create space for yourself,” she said. “Planning things out sucks, and sometimes saying ‘no’ does too, but in the end it’s a lifesaver.”

It’s true. Creating space for oneself is essential, and I have a hard time completely saying ‘no’ to a lot of things. As a result, I’ll find myself playing for a number of various events that, while I enjoyed, took up more time than expected, leaving little space for academic work.

Still, it’s difficult for me to justify, because I love to play (and there’s a little part of me that wishes for music grad school and a musician’s life), but I also have to finish what I started – which is this Biology degree. At any rate, I’m at a place right now where I need to play catch-up for awhile, and it’s alright. I will get it done, some way or another, and I’d like to do it with more positivity and courage than I’ve been showing this past week. Just because I’m having a hard week does not mean that I can’t help others have a better one, and I hope to express”kindness in another’s trouble,” and “courage in my own.” There’s a quiet strength in that, which is always something that I’ve admired and wished to have. So here’s to kindness and courage this week. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

