A Few Favourites, 2015: Part I

A few of the things I fell in love with this year:

Trident2

Quotes

“We are the music makers, and we are dreamers of dreams.”

~ Arthur O’ Shaughnessy

Moment: standing in the security line at the Kansas City airport, saying goodbye to one of my best friends before going abroad for the Spring Semester.

WP_006415

“There is hardly a more gracious gift that we can offer somebody than to accept them fully, to love them almost despite themselves.”

~ Elizabeth Gilbert

Moment: remembered while writing a letter to my mother who continues to love me in spite of myself.

“She talked some and laughed some, but mostly she watched – she watched the world and the way most people breathed air.”

~ Anonymous

Moment: remembered in the city during fall break, while walking down main street on a sunny, chilly October early afternoon, headed toward the Art Institute.

IMG_20151018_211033

 

“What happens when people open their hearts? … They get better.”

~ Haruki Murakami

Moment: remembered in Copenhagen after a frightening and tragic day.

“Everybody has a secret world inside them. All of the people in the whole world, I mean everybody. Inside them they’ve all got unimaginable, magnificent, wonderful, stupid, amazing worlds. Not just one world. Hundreds of them. Thousands, maybe.”

~ Neil Gaiman

Moment: remembered on a late afternoon when talking about a book by the same author, remembered again in the stairwell on a late, late night after meeting someone new.

IMG_20150913_190623

“But she did look back, and I love her for that, because it was so human.”

~ Kurt Vonnegut

Moment: remembered at a train station during the longest train ride of my life.

image (19).jpg

“I have to say that although it broke my heart, I was, and still am, glad I was there.”

~ Markus Zusak

Moment: remembered in Berlin; remembered again at this memorial.

“Think of me, I think of you. Love me, I love you.”

~ Rune Inscription

Moment: remembered from a letter sent to me in the summer from a dear friend who was in Chicago at the time; seen at a museum in the city.

IMG_20151018_202950

“What we want to create in the world, we must first create within ourselves.”

~ Lynn V. Andrews

Moment: remembered now, as I wrote my New Year’s Resolutions.

Carson_6

And so, so many more that ran through my head at various times, coming seemingly randomly to my head (or perhaps not?); they made me laugh, made me cry, made my heart hurt, or gave me the ability to breathe and let go a little bit. This year, write down a quote that made an impact on you, carry it with you for awhile, and then share it with someone dear to you.

Leave a Reply

