Own the Day: 6. Origami Wolves

IMG_20151223_150835758_HDR~2

Haley

Asked over a bowl of noodles on a cold, sunny Wednesday afternoon

“Maybe who we are isn’t so much about what we do, but rather what we’re capable of when we least expect it.”

~ Jodi Picoult, My Sister’s Keeper

______________________________

To listen:

Flightless Bird – Iron and Wine

______________________________________

A Walk-Through: Origami Wolves

I was in Minnesota, spending time with my grandparents.

They would always take the grandkids on a trip.

Somehow, it wound up that it was just me and them that weekend.

I remember feeling really special, because I got them all to myself.

___

We were in this little cabin, beside the lake.

We woke up and had breakfast.

Oh, I don’t remember what we had, but I must have liked it.

Then we took a trip to the Wolf Center that was nearby.

There was a Behind-the-Scenes tour that took us really close to the wolves.

I remember loving learning all about them, all about their behavior.

____

When we went back to the cabin, we made Origami Wolves – a whole family of them!

And at sunset, we took a canoe out onto the lake.

Grandpa couldn’t do any paddling, so Grandma and I paddled the most.

We saw two Bald Eagles over the lake, flying sky high.

I couldn’t believe it.

That evening, we drove into town for Dairy Queen.

I had gotten my grandparents addicted to Dairy Queen.

They still like to go today.

I remember falling asleep that night, so happy, for the time I had with them.

IMG_20151223_150947501~2

Leave a Reply

