Own the Day: 3. Short Stories, In the Park

Gaby_1

Gaby

Asked over Saturday morning brunch at our favourite Hillsboro hang

 “I’ll read my books and I’ll drink coffee and I’ll listen to music.”

~  J.D. Salinger

(A Boy in France : Saturday Evening Post CCXVII, March 31, 1945)

___________________________

To Listen:

Cigarette Daydreams – Cage the Elephant

____________________________

A Walk-Through: Short Stories, In the Park

“I’d wake up early at 7 am and walk a few miles with someone. The sun would be out, and we’d have morning coffee and breakfast. Then we’d just sit and talk for awhile, you know? The excitement of getting to know someone, especially through their gestures. We’d talk about music, about books, about anything, about everything.

“Then we’d go for a walk in the park. I’d bring some short stories to read, of course. J.D. Salinger. He perfectly describes encounters with strangers or spacing out at times. I just think he would give the best comedic narration to my life. It’d be shorts-and-sweater weather, the kind of weather that can get away with that. The kind that is not too hot and not too cold.

“In the afternoon, I’d like to be lazy and watch Seinfeld with some friends. The sky would drizzle at around 4, but it would clear up in time for sunset. I’d walk to visit and eat with my family, and then I’d have some friends over. Evening starts, and maybe we’ll put some music on. There would be casual drinks and conversation.

“The last thought in my head? Thankfulness for the people in my life. A feeling of love all around. Friends and family surrounding me, and happiness in my heart. That would be my perfect day.”

IMG_20150907_000635

“I like it when somebody gets excited about something. It’s nice.”

~ J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

Leave a Reply

